Using the service

How can I handle customer questions?


Customers and prospects can send questions to your company via the chat widget at your web site or with Facebook messenger via your Facebook page.

 

Where are the customer conversations?

All customer conversations can be found in the Customer service section of the web app and the mobile apps.

There are two inboxes:

  1. My inbox
    Contains conversations assigned to you..
  2. Unassigned queue.
    Contains new conversations not yet assigned to any team member.

In each of the inboxes you can see a list of conversations. If someone else in your team is looking at an unassigned conversation, you will see this in the list.

Click on a conversation to open it.

 

Assigning a Conversation to yourself

You can Assign a Conversation in the Unassigned queue to yourself in either of these ways:

  1. Write an answer
    By writing and posting an answer to the customer in the conversation.
  2. Forward an AI answer
    By clicking on a suggested answer from the AI function.

 

Using suggested answers from AI

The Sonetel AI (Artificial Intelligence) function will suggest answers that you can forward to the customer with a click – saving time.

The answers are fetched from your home page, old customer conversations etc.

The suggested answers appear at the bottom of the conversation in purple.

If there are multiple alternate suggested you can scroll through them sideways.

 

  • Send the suggested answer to the customer
    Click on the suggested answer (in purple) to send it to the customer.
  • Edit answer before sending
    If you want to edit the suggested answer before sending it, select the Edit option to get it copied to your message entry field.
  • Rejecting bad suggested answers
    If the suggested answer is totally wrong, you may want to tell the AI-function this – to improve future suggestions – by using the Reject option.

In web app, the Edit and Reject option is shown if you hover the mouse above the suggested answer. In mobile hold press the suggestion to see the options.

If you simply ignore suggested answers, this is also counted as feedback to the AI-engine. Rejecting is simply a stronger message from you to the AI-function if the suggestion is really off the charts.

 

Closing a Conversation

Once a dialog with the customer or prospect is completed, select the Close option to close the conversation. The customer can however reopen the conversation later – in which case you will be notified and get the conversation in your inbox.

In the mobile apps you find the Close option under the menu (upper right) in each customer conversation.

Clicking on the menu icon will offer the close option at the bottom of the screen.

In the web app, there is a close button above each customer conversation.

Closed conversations can be seen if you use the Filter options above the conversation list.

 

Viewing closed conversations

You can see all closed conversations by using the filter option above the conversation list, to show Closed conversations.

You can re-open a conversation by posting a message to the customer in it. The customer can also reopen it by posting a message.

Closed conversations can also be found via the Search function.

 

Internal notes & escalations

When handling Conversations with customers, it is also possible to write internal notes that are invisible to the customer. By mentioning another user or Team by name in the note, you can additionally pull them into the Conversation and can have a dialogue with them – without the customer seeing it.

In mobile, click on the Internal note icon to switch to writing an internal note.

In the web app, toggle between writing to the customer and writing Internal notes by clicking on the “internal note” and “Reply” header about the message entry field in the customer conversation.

Just start typing the name of the user you want to pull in, and their name will appear for selection.

If you mention a User, they will get notified and see that they have a new Mention that they need to look at.

The User that gets mentioned (or the Team member that gets assigned) can see the Internal note and also your conversation with the customer.

They can do two things:

  1. Have an internal dialogue
    They can respond to the Internal note in a sub-discussion under the Internal note. This is visible only to you and other team members and not to the customer (see below).
  2. Start a new Conversation with the customer.
    Your Conversation with the customer is personal, so other Users cannot step into that one – but they can start a new Conversation with the customer. They do this simply by replying to the customer in your conversation.

You can add as many Internal notes as you wish in each customer conversation.

You can find them all in the conversation itself – by scrolling –  and via the information icon available in each conversation.

 

See information about the customer

When communicating with a customer or prospect, it is useful to get a “full picture” of that person. Have they been in contact with us before? What web pages did they visit? Where are they located? You can also update the customer profile with name and other details – and add personal notes.

To access this information, click on the Information icon shown above the Conversation

In the Web app, click on this symbol – when having a Conversation in view.

You will then get a menu with these options.

You will see the city and country of the customer, and can select these options:

  • Profile
    Allows you to add additional info about the customer, such as name, company, email etc.
  • Recent events
    Shows what pages the customer has visited at your web site (if they have used web chat) and other events.
  • Past conversations
    Shows all Conversations the Customer has had earlier with anyone in your company.
  • Internal notes
    Allows you to see all the internal notes in the conversation.

 

Profile

The profile contains information about the location of the customer (based on their IP address when available) and all other information that has been gathered.

You can add information – such as name email etc. – by clicking on the Edit symbol.

When in Edit mode you can replace the “Stockholm lead” text with a proper name.

If you enter a Company name you can either select from existing customer companies or define a new one.

 

Recent events

It can be very useful to see what the prospect or customer has done in the past. This is available under Recent events.

Each event can be clicked for further details.

 

Past conversations

This option allows you to see all conversations the customer has had with anyone in your company.

There is also an option to see a merged view of all historical conversations with the customer.

 

Internal notes

You can see all the internal notes posted by you and other team members in the conversation here.

 

Add labels to conversations or messages

You can add one or more colored labels to any message or conversation. This allows you to mark conversations or messages that are important or need to be categorized.

In the search function you can later find all conversations where any specific label is used.

You can add labels to Conversations by doing the following;

  • Mobile
    Hold/press any conversation in your inbox and then select “Label” from the menu that appears.
  • Web app
    Hover above a conversation in your inbox. Click on the menu icon on the right side.  Select “Add Label” from the list.

You can also add labels to messages by doing the following;

  • Mobile
    Hold/press any message and then select “Label” from the menu that appears.
  • Web app
    Hover above a message. Select “Label” from the list.

There are Team labels and private labels. You can define new ones by pressing the “+” sign.

 

The labels are shown as subtle colored dots above the messages.

In the search result you can search for the Label by name or use the All labels option to see the list – and then find all messages and conversations with that label.