Call recording is available with phone numbers that are free with paid plans.
You can activate call recording on all calls company-wide – or only record on specific Sonetel phone numbers, users or activate recording per call.
Activating call recording
Call recording is disabled by default. To activate call recording in your account, sign in to the web app, and click on the Settings button and then select Phone numbers -> Call recording.
Here are the options:
- Enable call recording
Turn on or off call recording company-wide.
- What calls should be recorded?
Record all records all calls (excluding on-net calls between team members).
Let me select can be set to either All incoming calls or All outgoing calls or Allowed.
Allowed means that call recording can be activated per phone number or user.
Where can I find the recordings?
Team member view
Team members that make calls – or receive calls via Sonetel phone numbers assigned to them – will see their call recordings in the regular conversations in the Sonetel apps.
This is what it looks like in the mobile app.
The conversations are either named by the phone number you called (or that called you) or by the Contact you have, that has that phone number.
Each conversation holds all call history and recordings for that contact.
The conversation with the latest update is always in the top of the list.
By clicking on the conversation in the conversations list (see above), you will be able to see and play the recording (see below).
You can call the Contact/phone number by clicking on the Phone symbol in the upper right corner of the screen.
The web app provides a similar view.
Finding older call recordings
You can find your older recordings in several different ways.
- Use search
You can search for older conversations by searching on names of contacts.
- Go via the contact
Click on the People symbol in the app to find your mobile contacts (if imported) and Team members. Click on a contact, and then on the Conversations icon in their profile.
- Via the Admin view
The admin view (see below) allows access to all call recordings company wide.
If you have Admin privileges, you can see all call recordings company wide. You can filter them, download them and delete them.
You can manage all call recordings here.
Frequently asked questions
Here are a few things that are good to know about call recording.
- How can I delete recordings?
Deletion is currently only possible via the Admin view.
- How can I download recordings?
Downloading is currently only possible via the Admin view.
- Why am I not getting any recordings in my conversations?
Either you havn’t the latest version of our mobile apps, or you havn’t activated recording, or you havn’t verified your account, or you havn’t connected the phone number to you as a Sonetel user. If you forward a Sonetel number directly to your mobile, recordings will not appear in your conversations – but will still be available via the Admin view.
- Can I label recordings?
Yes, recordings that appear in your conversations can be labeled. Hover over the recording in the Web app or long-click the recording in the mobile app to get the label option. Find recordings with certain labels via the search function.
Call recording is available to all Sonetel customers that have a phone number free with a paid plan. Fair usage limitations apply.
- Regular accounts
- can make 10 free recordings per month
- have 1 GB free storage. This storage is shared among all Users in your account.
- Accounts with Premium plan
- can record 10,000 call minutes free per month
- have 100 GB free storage per User in the account + 100 GB free storage for recordings that are not related to any User in your account.
- Accounts with Business plan
- can record 50,000 call minutes free per month
- have 1 TB free storage per User in the account + 1 TB free storage for recordings that are not related to any User in your account.
- Over-usage above the free limit is charged with $0.0020 per started minute.
As an example, if you have a regular account and have 1.2 GB of recorded files in total, you will be charged $1 for the 0.2 GB which is above the allowed limit.
You can see the current usage of storage on the Plan page in web app.